Top Menu

Student Council

St. Joseph Student Council

The Student Council is a group of 7th and 8th grade students. They are elected by students from grades 3-7. Their primary function is to oversee and organize student activities throughout the school year. They meet weekly to plan events and they are a self supporting group, using different fund-raisers to pay for these activities. The annual events that they sponsor are two “Socials” (7th and 8th grade dances), three Pep Rallies, Catholic Schools Week, the Shamrock Hunt, and Student Council Elections. Other activities that they have held are school picnics, Mission Drives, Fun Days, welcoming activities, Food Drives and school liturgies. They preside over the monthly flag ceremonies, giving out awards for ecology, monitoring spirit points, announcing the sport teams’ standings and acknowledging students’ birthdays. Different fund-raising activities have included candy and ice cream sales and raffles. It’s fun for all the students.

2016-2017 Student Council

Aidan Salazar – President

Thomas Larson – Vice President

Victoria Garcia – Secretary

Samantha Agustin – Treasurer

Emily Bechtel – Religion Commissioner

Special Events Commissioners – Jordan Brinkworth and Camila Castro

Publicity Commissioner – Jacinta Otero

Boys’ Spirit Commissioner – Vance Rubert

Girls’ Spirit Commissioner – Shannon Gaitan

Boys’ Technology Commissioner – Joshua Fox

Girls’ Technology Commissioner – Calista Chan

Ecology Commissioners – Katelyn Boisvert and Megan Mehas